top of page


Standard Gauge Heritage Railways


The Railway Club Directory contains the most detailed collective description of every Standard Gauge Heritage Railway that operates in the United Kingdom, available anyway (including the internet) today.


Note that we define such railways as those that run between two or more destinations with timetabled operations.


In respect of railways that run from a single station or base, click the button immediately below for separate entries of ‘Other Heritage Railways’.


For ease of locating a given railway, we have divided this part of the Directory geographically into nine regions.


Click into the region to find the railway of interest


For convenience, the entire list of 57 ‘Standard Gauge Heritage Railways’, is listed below the regional headings.



1. Epping Ongar Railway

2. Lincolnshire Wolds Railway

3. Mid-Norfolk Railway

4. North Norfolk Railway

Home Counties and South East


5. Bluebell Railway

6. Chinnor and Princes Risborough Railway

7. Cholsey and Wallingford Railway

8. East Kent Railway

9. Isle of Wight Steam Railway

10. Kent & East Sussex Railway

11. Lavender Line

12. Mid Hants Railway

13. Spa Valley Railway

14. Swindon & Cricklade Railway




15. Battlefield Line Railway

16. Cambrian Heritage Railways

17. Chasewater Railway

18. Churnet Valley Railway

19. Ecclesbourne Valley Railway

20. Foxfield Railway

21. Great Central Railway PLC

22. Midland Railway - Butterley

23. Nene Valley Railway

24. Nottingham Heritage Railway

25. Peak Rail

26. Severn Valley Railway

27. Telford Steam Railway

North West


28. East Lancashire Railway

29. Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway

Northern Ireland

30. Downpatrick and County Down Railway



31. Bo’ness & Kinneil Railway

32. Caledonian Railway

33. Keith & Dufftown Railway

34. Strathspey Railway Company


South West


35. Avon Valley Railway

36. Bodmin and Wenford Railway

37. Dartmouth Steam Railway

38. Dean Forest Railway

39. East Somerset Railway

40. Gloucestershire and Warwickshire Steam Railway

41. Helston Railway

42. Plym Valley Railway

43. South Devon Railway

44. Swanage Railway

45. West Somerset Railway




Cambrian Heritage Railways (see 16)

46. Gwili Railway

47. Llangollen Railway

48. Pontypool & Blaenavon Heritage Railway


Yorkshire and North East


49. Aln Valley Railway

50. Embsay & Bolton Abbey Steam Railway

51. Keighley & Worth Valley Railway

52. Middleton Railway

53. North Yorkshire Moors Railway

54. North Tyneside Steam Railway

55. Tanfield Railway

56. Weardale Railway

57. Wensleydale Railway

bottom of page